CSK vs KKR 22nd Match IPL 2024 Highlights

Watch cricket video highlights between Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders. Indian Premier League 2024 twenty second match, played at Chennai.

Chennai Super Kings

came home and to winning ways after suffering two straight losses away from home, handing Kolkata Knight Riders their first IPL 2024 setback. With the ball on a surface similar to the one we saw at Chepauk in previous seasons, CSK took the opener’s wicket and held KKR to 137 for 9. This came after the powerplay saw KKR surge to 56 for 1. However, the CSK bowlers, especially Ravindra Jadeja (3 for 18), came into their own as the ball grew older.

Ruturaj Gaikwad regained form in the chase, guiding the innings with an undefeated 67 off 58 balls to get CSK across the finish line with seven wickets and 14 balls remaining. Together with Daryl Mitchell (25 off 19), he scored 70 off 55 balls before Shivam Dube entered and hit 28 off 18 to pull CSK closer. MS Dhoni entered the game with three to win, triggering chaos in the Chepauk stands. However, it was Gaikwad who, appropriately, brought the pursuit to a close by smashing Anukul Roy through barriers.

Gaikwad hasn’t had the best of starts in the 2024 Indian Premier League. He had only scored 88 runs in four innings going into the game, with an average of 22 during the tournament. But he settled in for the long haul, with a modest aim in front of him. He began with a ramp off Vaibhav Arora after a cautious first over, and by the end of the powerplay, he had gone from 4 off 9 to 32 off 23.

Rachin Ravindra gave the initial push as he pursued Mitchell Starc, but Gaikwad made sure to keep things going after he was knocked out. He had more responsibility since Ajinkya Rahane was dealing with a calf problem, and he performed admirably in that situation. Anukul Roy’s left-arm spin was matched by Gaikwad, who creamed Roy through covers after backing away the opening ball of the fifth over. He made two more copies of those strokes before hitting Vaibhav Arora for two consecutive fours. As the powerplay came to a close, CSK had rushed to 52 for 1.

Mitchell and Dube provided Gaikwad with outstanding support in getting CSK across the finish line. After being moved up to No. 3, Mitchell showed off his skills by hitting Sunil Narine for a six and four just after the powerplay. Although they didn’t always maintain the bounds, the pair managed to keep the scoreboard moving. They scored 44 runs in the 36 balls between overs six and twelve, comprising 17 singles, five doubles, two fours, and one six. That was all CSK needed, since the asking run rate gradually dropped below six runs per over.

After Mitchell was knocked out, Dube put on quite the show in the IPL 2024. After hitting two sixes in a row off Varun Chakravarthy, he bullied Arora for another over deep midwicket. This season, Dube has been CSK’s top run scorer with a 193.93 strike rate against all spinners. He just improved his credentials on Monday. After Dube was dismissed, it did not take long for CSK to complete the chase, winning the match in 17.4 overs.

Sunil Narine, their go-to man for wrecking havoc in the powerplay this season, held KKR up after they lost the toss and a wicket off the opening ball of the match. In his next over, he targeted Tushar Deshpande. Narine was up and away with a four through square leg, one over mid-off, and a six over deep square. Even a shoulder ailment didn’t seem to deter him. With 127 runs this season with a strike rate of 201.58, Narine also passed Virat Kohli during his inning to hold the record for most runs scored in the powerplay. With Angkrish Raghuvanshi, who carried over from his opening innings, he found an ally. Together, they scored 56 runs off of 36 balls for the second wicket.

In the first two IPL 2024 matches played in Chepauk, the CSK spinners had failed to claim a single wicket. Jadeja seems to take it personally as well. In his first eight deliveries of the game, he took three wickets, severely hurting the middle order of the KKR.

Attempting a reverse sweep, he first sent back Raghuvanshi, who erred and was caught squarely in front. Then, with the batsman hitting a length ball straight to long-off, he dismissed Narine for the fourth time in five T20 innings. The third person Jadeja fell victim to was Venkatesh Iyer, who holed out to deep midwicket, with Mitchell making a wonderful catch by leaping forward. Jadeja’s usual strategy in these circumstances is to be as precise as she can. It was here that he realized he needed to do one more thing. not completely filled. Allow the inherent diversity shown in this pitch to take its course. KKR only managed 43 in the following nine overs, losing four wickets, after reaching 56 in the opening six overs.

After the first fifteen overs, Gaikwad brought on the fast bowlers and started to rely more on the cutters. Before Mustafizur Rahman came over, Deshpande had Rinku Singh slicing one back onto his stumps. Even though he had just finished a lengthy run-up, he managed to insert slower cutters that would have pleased any slow left-arm conventional spinner. In his penultimate over, he picked up two wickets while allowing only two runs to be scored. Deshpande ended with 3 for 33 from his four overs, while Mustafizur took 2 for 22, making him the competition’s leading wicket-taker. In the final four overs, the pair produced sixteen cutters out of a possible twenty-four, and KKR had no idea.

Copyright – Third Party Reference Inline Linking Embedded Video from iplt20